UKELA Moot Winners

Wed, 11 Apr 2012

We are pleased to announce the winners of the UK Environmental Law Association (UKELA) student moot competitions, sponsored by No5 Chambers which took place on 29th March 2012.
The event is split in to two mooting competitions, the "Lord Slynn of Hadley Mooting Trophy Competition" for pupil barristers and trainee solicitors, and the "UKELA Student Prize Moot" for students at University or partaking in vocational courses.
The 2012 winners of the Lord Slynn of Hadley Mooting Trophy were James Corbet-Burcher and George Mackenzie, both pupil barristers.
This year's winners of the UKELA Student Prize Moot were Ben de Feu and Nicola Peart, both of the College of Law.
Both teams leave with £150 prize money each as well as mini-pupillages / internships with No5 Chambers.
In addition to the mooting competition, the winner for the 2012 Andrew Lees Prize annual article competition was announced as Eleanor Coombs, a trainee at Clifford Chance. Amongst the judges, No5 Chambers' Suella Fernandes. 
The event also proved to be a successful networking event with trainee solicitors and pupils able to share advice and their experiences with up and coming law students.
(Left to right): 
Prof Mark Poustie, Strathclyde University;
Mark Brumwell, UKELA Chair;
Ben de Feu, junior winner;
Nicola Peart, junior winner;
Lord Justice Carnwath;
James Corbert-Burcher, senior winner;
George Mackenzie, senior winner;
Rachel Caldin, Lawtext;
Suella Fernandez, No 5 Chambers.
For more information please click here to visit the official UKELA student website.

Related articles

Counsel from No5 Barristers’ Chambers have successfully represented two officers who were alleged to have discriminated against a member of a public by reason of his race....

Date: Thu, 12 Dec 2019
Counsel from No5 Barristers’ Chambers prosecuted and defended (Mike Duck QC prosecuting and Ian Bridge defending) in the recent high profile and tragic case involving the death of Dr Suzanna Bull....

Date: Wed, 11 Dec 2019
Personal Injury analysis: This analysis considers Master Cook’s judgment in RXK in which he sets out the circumstances in which the court will order an interim payment despite final quantification still being some years hence. It explains why this will be welcome news for claimant solicitors, even though no substantive decision was given in the case....

Date: Wed, 04 Dec 2019