No5 Barristers appointed to List of Specialist Regulatory Advocates in Health & Safety and Environmental Law

Wed, 26 Jun 2019

No5 Barristers’ Chambers is pleased to announce the strengthening of its list of Specialist Regulatory Advocates undertaking regulatory prosecutions in fields that include Health and Safety (HSE), Natural Resource Wales (NRW), The Environment Agency (EA), The Care Quality Commission (CQC) and the Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR).

Bernard Thorogood, Ian Bridge and Adam Farrer who have been long standing members of the Panels A list have been joined by Tim Pole, Harpreet Sandhu and Philip Rule in the top tier of the list giving them the opportunity to be instructed in the most serious of regulatory breaches.

Christopher Hopkins has been appointed to the B list with Talbir Singh, Simon Hunka and Philip Vollans being appointed to the C list.

CEO and Director of Clerking at No5, Tony McDaid said “We have a rich history both prosecuting and defending in specialist areas of regulatory law throughout the UK for local authorities and a wide range of private, corporate and insurance backed clients.

The ten who are listed on the panel are testimony to the strength we have in the field which is not limited to those on the panel. Regulations are there for a reason with the ultimate objective of making the environment we interact with safer. We find that more and more clients are coming to us for advice on how to avoid breaches and thereby avoid prosecution.”

Related articles

Ecky Tiwana was successful in quashing client’s convictions at an Appeal Hearing...

Date: Tue, 30 Jun 2020
Update from Tony McDaid on No5's latest position during Covid-19...

Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2020
No5 Barristers’ Chambers is committed to protecting the mental health of its barristers, pupils and staff. We have been awarded the Bar Council’s Wellbeing Certificate of Recognition and have in place a robust Wellbeing Policy to provide such support....

Date: Mon, 18 May 2020