Mark Heywood QC appointed to National Court

Thu, 21 Sep 2017

Mark Heywood QC, of No5 Barristers’ Chambers, has been appointed as a chairman of the Motor Sports Council National Court, the highest judicial authority in UK motorsport.

The National Court has several areas of jurisdiction including appeals, disciplinary, investigatory, eligibility and arbitration. It can issue penalties ranging from fines to periods of suspension of somebody’s MSA Competition Licence. National Court Reports are published in the quarterly MSA Magazine and on the website.

Heywood is a highly-experienced lawyer who practises in criminal and regulatory law. He was called to the Bar in 1986 and was appointed a QC in 2012. Heywood is also a lifelong motorsport enthusiast, who has competed in MSA karting and circuit racing. He is currently a Race National A Competition Licence holder competing with the 750 Motor Club and the Classic Sports Car Club.

Heywood said: “Having been a competitor for many years, from karting into cars, it is an honour to have been appointed as a Chairman of the National Court. I know how important the Court’s proceedings and decisions are to competitors, officials and all interested parties, so I hope to be able to put my legal and motorsport experience to good effect. I am really looking forward to it.”

The National Court is not part of the MSA and is independent of the governing body. Instead it is a function of the rule-making body of UK motorsport, the Motor Sports Council, which consists predominantly of the volunteers who chair the specialist committees representing the sport’s various disciplines.

Related articles

Three counsel from No5 Barristers’ Chambers have been shortlisted in the Chambers Bar Awards 2020 Diversity and Inclusion categories. No5 itself has also been recognised in the same category....

Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020
No5 Barristers’ Chambers has again reaffirmed its position as a leading set of barristers in the annual Legal 500....

Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020
Yasmin Yasseri, Richard Grimshaw and Richard Oakes are all to be appointed Recorders....

Date: Thu, 08 Oct 2020