News & Publications

Mrs. Justice Beverley Lang DBE granted JR permission at a remote hearing on 16 July 2020...

Date: Mon, 20 Jul 2020
The Court of Appeal today overturned a High Court decision in the continuing battle waged by Notts firm, Instalaw...

Date: Fri, 17 Jul 2020
On 17 June 2020 Mostyn J granted permission to the claimant, RM, to bring judicial review proceedings against the Manchester City Council...

Date: Fri, 19 Jun 2020
Update from Tony McDaid on No5's latest position during Covid-19...

Date: Thu, 18 Jun 2020
Other than in exceptional circumstances, each member of the immigration teams...

Date: Fri, 22 May 2020
No5 Barristers’ Chambers is committed to protecting the mental health of its barristers, pupils and staff. We have been awarded the Bar Council’s Wellbeing Certificate of Recognition and have in place a robust Wellbeing Policy to provide such support....

Date: Mon, 18 May 2020
In AM (Zimbabwe) v Secretary of State for the Home Department [2020] UKSC 17, Lord Wilson...

Date: Wed, 29 Apr 2020
On 21 April 2020, the Immigration Law Practitioners’ Association (ILPA) and Colin Yeo, the barrister who edits the Free Movement blog...

Date: Fri, 24 Apr 2020
Both in parliament and written guidance, the government has been clear that no-one will have a negative outcome through the immigration system due to a circumstance that was beyond their control...

Date: Wed, 22 Apr 2020
Update 9 April 15:48: Phone lines now functioning...

Date: Thu, 09 Apr 2020
This note attempts to summarise the current working practice for Courts and Tribunals in England and Wales: is the court or tribunal simply closed, open for certain business or operating new remote procedures?...

Date: Mon, 30 Mar 2020
At this time of unprecedented national public health emergency we would like to update you as to how we will maintain our Immigration services during the covid-19 outbreak....

Date: Fri, 27 Mar 2020
No5 have set up the facility to host virtual mediations and round table meetings....

Date: Wed, 25 Mar 2020
Mobile numbers for management...

Date: Tue, 24 Mar 2020
As countries start closing their borders under the escalating threat of Covid-19 what rights does the UK have and what about UK citizens in Europe?...

Date: Tue, 17 Mar 2020
The steps No5 are taking to help minimise the spread of COVID-19....

Date: Fri, 13 Mar 2020
Could menopause be impacting on the poor rates of retention of women at senior levels?...

Date: Fri, 28 Feb 2020
Counsel from No5 Barristers’ Chambers has been named Barrister of the Year in leading legal sector awards...

Date: Tue, 11 Feb 2020
If Shamima Begum is not a national of Bangladesh, the Secretary of State cannot deprive her of her British citizenship....

Date: Mon, 10 Feb 2020
Bringing together 50 LGBT charity sector and third sector leaders to look at how the LGBT charity can work together, Dr Chelvan's keynote speech...

Date: Wed, 05 Feb 2020
Two barristers from No5 Barristers’ Chambers, the UK’s largest set of chambers, are to be appointed to Her Majesty’s Queen’s Counsel by the Lord Chancellor at a ceremony taking place at Westminster Hall on Monday 16th March....

Date: Thu, 16 Jan 2020
Two counsel from No5 Barristers’ Chambers have been shortlisted in the Barrister of the Year category for the Modern Law Awards 2020....

Date: Thu, 02 Jan 2020
Christmas opening hours...

Date: Tue, 17 Dec 2019
Leanne Buckley-Thomson writes about being a mother, her passion for her job & on returning to work...

Date: Tue, 17 Dec 2019
In a determination of the Upper Tribunal promulgated on 13 November 2019, Upper Tribunal Judge Perkins has allowed an appeal on asylum grounds concerning a victim of domestic violence from Albania....

Date: Fri, 22 Nov 2019
Dr Chelvan has been successfully appointed as an Independent Reviewer by the Independent Chief Inspector of Borders and Immigration to provide a review...

Date: Tue, 22 Oct 2019
Dr. Laura Davidson has compiled and edited a new book which puts the spotlight on mental health...

Date: Mon, 14 Oct 2019
No5 Barristers' Chambers ranked in leading Chambers UK 2020 Guide...

Date: Sun, 13 Oct 2019
No5 Barristers’ Chambers has once again confirmed its standing as one of the leading sets of barristers in the country in the annual Legal 500....

Date: Mon, 30 Sep 2019
Two cricket tournaments staged by No5 Barristers’ Chambers in memory of a late member have raised a total of £3,375 for the national charity of the Bar – Advocate....

Date: Thu, 08 Aug 2019
Chloe represented Mr Hussain, a 46 year old man of good character, in a four-week trial before Sheffield Crown Court....

Date: Fri, 02 Aug 2019
Legal immigration experts have expressed concern that the message is not getting across to EEA...

Date: Thu, 11 Jul 2019
The Queen has appointed No5’s Vinesh Mandalia to be a Judge of the Upper Tribunal...

Date: Tue, 09 Jul 2019
A new decision from the Court of Appeal confirms the court is slow, even if the tribunal is not...

Date: Thu, 13 Jun 2019
No5 Barristers’ Chambers has been officially recognised for the mutual support its barristers and staff provide to ensure their continued wellbeing....

Date: Fri, 07 Jun 2019
Dr Chelvan has been instructed by Sarah Latimer of Fountain Solicitors (Newport) to represent Kenneth Macharia....

Date: Fri, 07 Jun 2019
Internationally renowned barrister S Chelvan of No5 Barristers’ Chambers has been awarded a PhD in Law by Kings College, London....

Date: Tue, 04 Jun 2019
The Equality and Human Rights Commission has announced its list of preferred counsel, instructed to...

Date: Fri, 17 May 2019
Counsel at No5 Barristers’ Chambers have won a positive ruling at the CJEU in an intercountry adoption appeal...

Date: Fri, 10 May 2019
Permission granted on the papers to challenge on grounds of irrationality, unlawfulness and unreasonableness...

Date: Fri, 10 May 2019
Appointments to the Attorney General's civil panel counsel for 2019....

Date: Wed, 08 May 2019
Human rights barrister appointed to UK Government Equalities Office’s LGBT Advisory Panel...

Date: Tue, 19 Mar 2019
Two counsel from a Birmingham barristers’ chambers have been appointed as Fee-paid Judges of the First-Tier Tribunal....

Date: Wed, 20 Feb 2019
Counsel highlights ‘delicious irony’ of Brexit’s effects on human rights law...

Date: Mon, 18 Feb 2019
In an important test case today, 18 February 2018, the Court of Appeal has ruled the Secretary of State may be liable in costs for a successful claim for ‘Cart’ judicial review brought by an asylum applicant...

Date: Mon, 18 Feb 2019
No5 Barrister’s Chambers expertise called upon by Joint Committee on Human Rights...

Date: Mon, 11 Feb 2019
Counsel at No5 Barristers’ Chambers have appeared at the Court of Justice of the European Union in an intercountry adoption appeal. ...

Date: Thu, 07 Feb 2019
An immigration barrister fears a Judicial Review has thrown up the possibility that the Government’s methods to deport EU nationals could end up costing the country hundreds of thousands of pounds....

Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2019
Richard Alomo and S Chelvan act for Claimant in Surrogacy and Birth Certificate Test Case....

Date: Fri, 04 Jan 2019
Counsel represents family at inquest critical of Home office and Ministry of Justice...

Date: Fri, 21 Dec 2018
Supreme Court gives guidance on meaning of "reasonableness” and "unduly harsh” in children’s cases...

Date: Wed, 24 Oct 2018
Barristers Ramby de Mello, Becket Bedford and James Dixon are speaking at a series of immigration law "essential update" conferences hosted by the Immigration Law Friends Society in October....

Date: Wed, 26 Sep 2018
The Home Office was ordered to pay 10,000.00 costs following a hearing at Reading County Court before HHJ M Clarke, the Designated Civil Judge. ...

Date: Mon, 03 Sep 2018
Daily Mail reports on Private Prosecution of Linda Bellos - No5 Chambers' S Chelvan instructed as Leading Counsel by Guiliana Kendal...

Date: Tue, 28 Aug 2018
Vinesh Mandalia: success in opposing Rochdale grooming case deportation challenges...

Date: Thu, 09 Aug 2018
Alison Harvey to speak at Immigration Law Masterclass Conference...

Date: Thu, 02 Aug 2018
This article originally appeared on European Network on Statelessness.  View the original artic...

Date: Thu, 26 Jul 2018
Mr Justice Peter Lane and Mark Ockelton address solicitors at immigration law update...

Date: Tue, 24 Jul 2018
S Chelvan has been awarded an Attitude Pride Award for his work defending cases involving LGBT+ asylum seekers facing deportation. The awards are only in their third year and are given by Attitude magazine – the UK’s best-selling gay magazine....

Date: Mon, 09 Jul 2018
Philip Rule chairs Reform of the Parole Board: Open Justice and Rehabilitation seminar by the Human Rights Lawyers’ Association ...

Date: Wed, 04 Jul 2018
S Chelvan returns from historic signing of the Mytilini Declaration...

Date: Mon, 14 May 2018
Alison Harvey will be speaking on "Windrush and Hostile Environment" with the Immigration Law Friends Society at their Spring Essential Update Immigration Conference 2018. ...

Date: Wed, 09 May 2018
The Court of Appeal has awarded indemnity costs against the Home Secretary in her failed appeal against a decision of the Upper Tribunal, after she failed to pursue and to attempt to ‘make good’ an allegation of ‘systemic failure’...

Date: Tue, 24 Apr 2018
A doctor described as providing an essential service at NHS hospitals has been successful in obtaining Indefinite Leave to Remain. ...

Date: Mon, 16 Apr 2018
Jennifer Blair of No5 Barristers’ Chambers is spearheading the Legal Support Project for the Community Programme by Migrants Organise...

Date: Fri, 02 Mar 2018
Supreme Court rejects Sala and refers important questions on the position of adopted children to the CJEU ...

Date: Wed, 14 Feb 2018
Human Trafficking and its Immigration Implications for Survivors ...

Date: Tue, 09 Jan 2018