The finalists for this year’s Legal Aid Lawyer of the Year Awards were announced this morning. S. Chelvan has been short-listed, with two other finalists, in the Legal Aid Barrister category. 

The Legal Aid Practitioners Group have oraganised the LALY awards every year since 2003 on a not-for-profit basis. 

The judging panel this year was chaired by  Lord Justice McFarlane, joined this year by the former DPP Keir Starmer QC, and journalist and Guardian columnist Owen Jones, along with other leading legal figures.  The winner will be announced on the 5th of June at an awards ceremony in London.

Chelvan practices in asylum and immigration law, specialising in asylum claims based on sexual or gender identity.

You can view Chelvan’s profile here.